Electoral Observation Mission Final Report: General and Municipal Elections in Belize

Electoral Observation Mission Final Report: General and Municipal Elections in Belize

  • Electoral Observation Mission Final Report: General and Municipal Elections in Belize



On March 7, 2012, Belize underwent a process to
elect a Prime Minister, members of the National Assembly,
Mayors and members of nine town councils. A total of
244 candidates, including representatives of four political
parties as well as independent candidates, ran for 96 posts.
Over 73% of Belize’s 178,054 registered voters went to the
polls for the General and Municipal Elections.

In response to a February 7, 2012 invitation extended
by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade of
Belize to observe the electoral process, the Organization of
American States deployed an Electoral Observation Mission
composed of 22 international observers from 13 countries.
This was the first such invitation from the government of
Belize and thus the first election observed by the OAS in the

The Mission arrived in the country on March 1,
2012 to begin its observation of the electoral preparations
and to meet with government authorities, party leaders,
candidates, members of the resident diplomatic community
and civic organizations. On Election Day, observers were
deployed to all six of the country’s political districts,
covering all of its municipalities and more than 83% of
the country’s voting centers. This presence in the country
was made possible by financial contributions from the
governments of Bolivia, Chile, Mexico, Switzerland, the
United States and the United Kingdom.

At stake in the General and Municipal Elections were
all 31 seats in the National Assembly as well as 65 seats in nine
town councils. This occasion marked only the second time
in Belizean history that elections for members of municipal
and representative governments were held simultaneously.
74 candidates contested the 2012 General Elections in
Belize. The ruling United Democratic Party (UDP) and the
principal opposition People’s United Party (PUP) each fielded
candidates in all 31 national assembly constituencies. There
were also seven candidates from the People’s National Party
(PNP), two from Vision Inspired by the People (VIP) and three
independents. In the municipal elections, 170 candidates
competed for the posts of mayors and municipal councilors.

Final results in the General Elections gave 17 seats
in parliament to the UDP and the remaining 14 seats to the
PUP. Dean Barrow of the UDP was sworn in for his second
consecutive term as Prime Minister of Belize. Of the 65
contested municipal seats, the UDP won 42 and the PUP won

The OAS Electoral Observation Mission wishes
to express its gratitude to the Government of Belize for its
invitation to observe the electoral process and to thank the
political parties and candidates for their collaboration with
the Mission throughout its time in the country.


(2012). Electoral Observation Mission Final Report: General and Municipal Elections in Belize, General Secretariat, Organization of American States.


Retrieved from:



Contact Us

Belize History Association
Secretariat, Institute for Social and Cultural Research (ISCR)
National Institute of Culture and History (NICH)
Mountain View Blvd,
Belmopan City,

(T) 822-3307 (F) 822-3815
[email protected]

The BHA was established under the auspices of the National Institute of Culture and History and is supported by the Belize Archives & Records Service, Ministry of Education, Youth, Sports, and Culture, and Ministry of Foreign Affairs.